

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

August 16, 2023, 1:30 P.M. Student Center Conference Room 304 900 N Portland Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73107

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: John Daniel, Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, Ken Parker, and

Greg Hallman

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Geoff Kingsley, Kathryn Szallar

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, David Kurt, Lecrecia Schmidt

VISITORS: McKenna Pennir- Govennor Kevin Stitt Office,

Charles Lindsey-Outlaw-Legis OK, Dr. Michael Harris-Randall University, Dr. Brent Sykes-Randall University, Dr. Sophia Burch-Northeastern State

University

Call to Order: Mr. Ken Parker called the meeting to order at 1:33 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Mr. Parker asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Megan Oftedal: Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the July 19, 2023 Commission Meeting: Mr. Daniel made a motion to approve the minutes of the July 19, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Fieneger seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	absent
Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Hallman:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

Presentation and Discussion: Continued State Accreditation for Randall University: Dr. Sophia Burch spoke about her accreditation visit to Randall University. Dr. Mike Harris presented the changes being made to address issues found during the visit. Dr. Sophia Burch and Jennifer Gambrell answered questions asked by the Commissioners. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve continued State Accreditation for Randall University for 7 years. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	absent
Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Hallman:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

Appointment of CEQA Vice Chair: Mr. Daniel made a motion to appoint Mr. Parker as CEQA Vice Chair. Mr. Hallman seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	absent
Dr. Fiegener:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Hallman:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

Program Updates: None

CEQA Commissioner

New Business: Discussion of changes for the 2024 CEQA meeting location and dates.

The meeting adjourned at 2:36 p.m. The minutes of the August 16, 2023 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted	with corrections
on November 15, 2023.	
Signed:	
Mr. Ken Parker	Dr. Megan Oftedal,

OEQA Executive Director